A regional project located in Benin, Gabon, Kenya and Uganda implemented by Expertise France with FFEM and AFD financing. The project aims to assist these four African countries in their processes to prepare a low-carbon and climate-resilient development strategy.

A PROGRAM TO SUPPORT THE PREPARATION AND IMPLEMENTATION OF LOW-CARBON AND CLIMATE-RESILIENT STRATEGIES

Africa4Climate is a project launched in 2012 for a 3-year period with the aim of providing regional support for the fight against climate change in Africa.

  • Africa4Climate has a budget of EUR 3m financed by the French Facility for Global Environment (FFEM) and Agence Française de Développement (AFD)
  • It is implemented by Expertise France
  • It covers four countries: Benin, Gabon, Kenya, Uganda
  • Africa4Climate aims to help these four countries develop and implement a low-carbon and climate-resilient development strategy
     

AFRICA4CLIMATE WANTS TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE COP21 AGENDA OF SOLUTIONS

This project aims to build the capacities of four countries in terms of preparing and implementing public policies for climate change mitigation and adaptation: Gabon – Benin – Kenya – Uganda

Africa4Climate is in line with the objectives of the 21st Conference of Parties (COP21) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), as it aims to promote the actions taken by these countries to combat climate change.

Africa4Climate will thereby echo the agenda of solutions which aims to promote the emergence of solutions to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, adaptation to the impacts of climate change and bring about a collective and shared awareness in society.

AN INNOVATIVE AND PARTICIPATORY APPROACH

The approach proposed by the project is participatory, allowing an ownership and awareness of climate issues at all geographical levels (national/decentralized) and by society. The sharing of experience between the various planned initiatives, during cross capitalization workshops and international events also makes it possible to participate in the dissemination of results.
 

Infrastructure in Ghana
logo Africa4Climate
The innovative approach of this project is based on three areas
  1. A focus on calling on international and national expertise to support local partners in a context of exchanges between peers. Since the launch of the project, Expertise France has mobilized over 30 international and local individual experts, who know very well the national contexts of the countries of operation.
  2. An approach focused on supporting processes to develop institutional capacities where the sectoral intervention frameworks are discussed, validated and reviewed throughout the project, which facilitates a real ownership of the project.
  3. A rationale for operations based on a dual centralized/decentralized approach which makes the implementation more dynamic, effective and promotes the sharing of experience, as well as the creation of synergies between the national and decentralized levels.
     
Three strong points of the project
Africa4Climate benefits from 3 strong points which allow its sustainability, its replication and its ownership by the national and local authorities of the countries in question:
  1. The capitalization potential of the project: the approach proposed by the project is based on a multi-stakeholder and multi-level (national/decentralized) operation, which promotes reproducibility within the target countries themselves, but also in other countries.
  2. The sustainability of the project: develop champions in the fight against climate change, in order to allow the target institutions to effectively and sustainably integrate the related costs and opportunities.
  3. The ownership of tools: the project proposes a crosscutting integration of climate change in the strategic planning of key sectors of the economies of the targeted countries, via both climate change adaptation and mitigation.
     
Africa4Climate presentation brochure
Brochure on Kampala’s low-carbon strategy

Visuel AMP OIO 2011-2016 – Vanuatu,Port-Vila © D.Richard, FFEM
Renforcer la voix du continent africain dans la stratégie mondiale de lutte contre le changement climatique
Africa4Climate
Un projet régional implanté en Ouganda, au Kenya, au Gabon et au Bénin mis en oeuvre par Expertise France sur financements FFEM et AFD. Le projet vise à accompagner ces quatre pays africains dans leur processus d’élaboration d’une stratégie de développement sobre en carbone et résilient aux effets du changement climatique.

Un programme d’appui à l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de stratégies sobres en carbone et résilientes aux changements climatiques

Africa4Climate est un projet lancé en 2012 pour une période de trois ans avec pour objectif d’apporter un appui régional dans le domaine de la lutte contre le changement climatique en Afrique.

  • Africa4Climate est doté d’un budget de 3 millions d’euros financé par le Fonds Français pour l’Environnement Mondial (FFEM), l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD)
  • Il est mis en œuvre par Expertise France (EF)
  • Il couvre quatre pays : Gabon, Kenya, Ouganda, Bénin
  • Africa4Climate a pour objectif d’aider quatre pays de la région Afrique - Gabon, Kenya, Ouganda, Bénin - à développer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie de développement sobre en carbone et résiliente au changement climatique (SDSCR)

#Africa4climate veut contribuer à l’agenda des solutions #COP21

Ce projet veut renforcer les capacités de quatre pays en matière d’élaboration et de mise en œuvre de politiques publiques d’atténuation et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques : Ouganda - Kenya - Gabon -  Bénin.

Africa4Climate s’inscrit dans les objectifs de la 21ème Conférence des Parties de la Convention (COP21) Cadre des Nations Unies sur les Changements Climatiques (CCNUCC) car il a vocation à valoriser les actions entreprises par ces pays en faveur de la lutte contre les changements climatiques. 

Africa4Climate fera ainsi écho à l’agenda des solutions qui vise à favoriser l’émergence de solutions pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES), l’adaptation aux impacts du dérèglement climatique et la venue d’une prise de conscience collective et partagée dans la société.

Une approche innovante et participative

L’approche proposée par le projet est participative permettant une appropriation et une sensibilisation aux enjeux climatiques à toutes les échelles géographiques (national /décentralisé) et de la société. Le partage d’expériences entre les différentes initiatives prévues, lors d’ateliers de capitalisation croisée mais aussi d’évènements internationaux permet également de participer à la diffusion des résultats.

Infrastructure au Ghana
Logo Africa4Climate
La démarche innovante de ce projet repose sur trois axes
  1. Un recours privilégié à une expertise internationale et nationale en appui aux partenaires locaux dans un cadre d’échanges entre pairs. Expertise France a mobilisé depuis le lancement du projet plus de 30 experts individuels internationaux et locaux, connaissant particulièrement bien les contextes nationaux des pays d’intervention.
  2. Une approche orientée sur l’appui aux processus de développement des capacités institutionnelles où les cadres d’intervention sectoriels sont discutés, validés et revus tout au long du projet facilitant une réelle appropriation du projet.
  3. Une logique d’intervention reposant sur une double approche centralisée / décentralisée qui permet à la réalisation d’être plus dynamique, efficace et de favoriser le partage d’expériences ainsi que la création de synergies entre l’échelle nationale et décentralisée.
Trois points forts du projet
Africa4Climate bénéficie de 3 points forts qui permettent à la fois sa pérennité, sa réplication et son appropriation par les autorités nationales et locales des pays concernés :
  1. Le potentiel de capitalisation du projet : l’approche proposée par le projet repose sur une intervention pluri-acteurs et multi-échelle (national/décentralisé) qui favorise la reproductibilité au sein même des pays cibles mais aussi dans d’autres pays.
  2. La durabilité du projet : faire émerger des champions de la lutte contre les changements climatiques, afin de permettre aux institutions cibles d’intégrer efficacement et durablement les coûts et opportunités afférents.
  3. L’appropriation des outils : le projet propose une intégration transversale des changements climatiques dans la planification stratégique des secteurs clés des économies des pays ciblés, aussi bien à travers l’adaptation que l’atténuation à ce dernier.
Brochure de présentation Africa4Climate
Brochure de présentation Africa4Climate
Brochure sur la stratégie bas carbone de Kampala
Brochure sur la stratégie bas carbone de Kampala